A Father-Son Relationship; Powder by Tobias Wolff

Let me start off by saying, Powder, by Tobias Wolff was a cute short story about the relationship of a father and son, and how it later will affect the boy in the future. I liked the tone of the story compared to the tone of Didion’s essay, Grief. The relationship and bond between the father and son seemed somewhat heart warming. Some personal ethnography included in the short story could possibly be the way the boy acted and his disposition, which was mostly taken from his mother, rather than his father. He was more anxious and worried throughout the story, where the father was just basically “living in the moment;” he was more of a risk taker. Although the mother was not a main character in the story, it is evident what she is like by the first line of the story. The narrator says that the father had to “fight for the privilege,” of the company of his own son because the mother was seemingly more rigid and strict.

I also really enjoyed the style this story was written in. There were a lot of details that really made the story come alive! At first the title of the story, Powder, made me wonder what it was going to be about. As I continued to read the story, it was clear that the title related to the snowfall. A white, dusty, powder substance that descending onto the earth onto a December day. I also liked in the end how instead of using the word snow, the author summed up the story using the word, “powder.”

This leads me to my next point; the overall moral and significance of the story and how this one event changed the boy’s way of thinking. There are two main metaphors I found through reading this story, which relate to the significance also. The ending line of the story describes what the boy took away from his experience with his father, “if you haven’t driven on fresh powder, you having driven.” I felt that this meant if a person hasn’t tried to live their life to the fullest, why is it worth even living? This is what the boy realized by the end. It is okay to be spontaneous. It is okay not to be such a perfectionist. It is okay to try new things. It is not okay though, to always be worried- life is much better when a person not only enjoys it, but enjoys themselves. The father was able to show his son that it’s okay sometimes to do things that may be a little crazy, those are the moments in life that make it worth living. I also felt that the storm was a metaphor for the life this family had. It was rocky and bumpy. They did not always see eye to eye, but in the end things worked out and they made it through them. I felt this was important because the father said, “I want us all to be together again,” which displayed that no matter what the hardships that he had to endure he’d get them through it. The boy’s father became a guide, letting the boy know that even when things do go as planned, anything you set your mind to, you are capable of working through it.

3 thoughts on “A Father-Son Relationship; Powder by Tobias Wolff

  1. I completely agree with your last paragraph and also found meaning in the same metaphors. I think that the father’s spontaneous attitude, although reckless at times, is admirable. I often get too caught up in life as a whole and forget to just let go and enjoy NOW. I love how the narrator’s father has such a free spirited attitude and is willing to live life on the dangerous side, both literally and figuratively. I also agree with your metaphor about the storm – life is itself a storm, a very unpredictable one, and it is up to us what we make of it and how we make it through. I thought this story was a very creative and powerful metaphor that really got me thinking about how I want to live my life.

  2. I agree with you when you say the story was so amazingly detailed, the emotions and moments so well expresses, it was made me feel I was right there living the story.
    I do think is very cute to. It did had an impact in the boy in a very human and life oriented way. I can see he did loved his dad, however he would not grow to follow his example as example.

  3. I admire your effort so much. The amount of work you put into your comments is so admirable. However, I also, like you enjoyed reading this article very much. The story is very “cute” and is a nice thing to ride. It is sort of refreshing after all of the more serious literary works we have been reading.

Comments are closed.